We cook them in 100% vegetable oil, in a dedicated fryer separate from our meat items. However, those with dietary restrictions might have a trickier time finding something they can eat at your average fast food restaurant. The beans provide some quality plant protein, and the corn and tomatoes give it a great texture and crunch. Robert Van De Ville is a registered nutritionist, he earned his degree in nutrition from California State University. In UK McDonald’s restaurants, the hash browns may be cooked near the fryers that are used for fish and chicken. My favourite thing about Frankie & Benny’s is that they also offer vegan desserts (I usually go for the Chocomisu). Your options will be better in some regions. An author of the upcoming book, researcher and dedicated vegan activist. Whether or not a specific item is free from animal products and also cruelty-free can be a complex question, depending on where you stand regarding certain ingredients.eval(ez_write_tag([[250,250],'veganclue_com-medrectangle-3','ezslot_4',103,'0','0'])); Are McDonald’s hash browns vegan? So Many Choices! I think every single person on this earth secretly craves for crispiest hash browns.. Favorite Answer They use some kind of beef fat, in which beef had to die to give the flavouring. It’s well worth checking to see what might be available before you resign yourself to another salad-and-fries meal. Vegetarians might struggle to find meat-free choices at McDonald’s , but vegans definitely have it even harder! This doesn’t mean that they don’t have vegetarian options, however. In the UK, McDonald’s hash browns do not contain eggs, milk or other animal-derived ingredients. How to Keep Pork Chops Moist Without Breading, What is the Best Pan for Baklava? Years ago, McDonald’s (and other fast-food restaurants) cooked its french fries and hash browns in a blend of vegetable oil and beef tallow. You can also check out the slushies, which aren’t exactly a diet food but are still a refreshing treat. With so many people opting to eliminate gluten from their diet, it would make sense that some famous fast. Uncategorized. View Ingredients & Allergens. Great news for fans of this delicious, crunchy, potato snack. You can have this as a hearty breakfast or, with extra sugar or sweetener, it makes for a nice dessert. While most entrees come standard with some kind of meat like bacon or sausage, it is always possible to order no meat and still get a really filling meal. What Else Can Vegetarians Eat at McDonald’s? Some will definitely lend themselves to this better than others, but be sure to ask for extra lettuce or other veggies to make up for it. In the UK, for example, McDonald’s has attempted to make its menu more vegan-friendly by changing the way that some items are prepared and adding new items that don’t contain animal products. As food chemist Gary Reineccius explained to … McDonald’s also have a number of other menu options that are made with vegan ingredients, but these can’t be certified as vegan because of a risk of cross contamination in their restaurants. Is the Impossible Burger Vegetarian? Served with some vegan mayonnaise and/or some tomato sauce this makes a great breakfast. Well, that depends on your interpretation. Can You Make Sugar Free Pudding with Almond Milk? Crispy on the outside and served until 11am, a Hash Brown will make your breakfast. Additionally, according to McDonald’s website, they are cooked in the same fryer as their donut sticks. McDonald’s hash browns contain both beef and milk ingredients, meaning they are definitely not vegan. Welcome to VeganClue – My name is Robert Van De Ville and together with my team we spent hundreds of hours researching the most relevant topics for Vegans and non yet Vegans Are you looking for more information about Veganism, animal welfare, diet, health and environment benefits of the Vegan lifestyle? https://www.mcdonalds.com/us/en-us/product/hash-browns.html, https://www.womenshealthmag.com/food/g28610230/mcdonalds-vegan/. In the UK, you can choose an order of fries with a fairly clear conscience: UK branches of the chain make their fries without animal ingredients. No, the hashbrowns are not vegan! We love hash browns and normally just make them quickly in the waffle iron or panini maker, but this dish needed to be something in the breakfast casserole category--think colorful, warm, and cheesy. I had no idea that these didn’t contain any animal products, but it sure is great news. If you are gluten free, I would recommend staying away from McDonald’s hash browns. According to their official website, the ingredients in McDonald’s hash browns are as follows: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (canola Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [wheat And Milk Derivatives]*), Salt, Corn Flour, Dehydrated Potato, Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (maintain Color), Extractives Of Black Pepper. Another fruit-filled side is the yogurt parfait, which is a pretty good sized dish. Let’s assume that there are some tasty animal-free options on the McDonald’s menu where you live. Vegetarians are fairly well-served but if you’re avoiding milk, dairy and other animal products too, you may face a bit of a struggle. Make breakfast hash browns like mcdonalds hash browns recipe how to mcdonald s hash brown potatoes recipe hashbrown recipes. Happy Cow app happens to help with that…. Important things first – the McDonald’s hash browns do NOT contain any gluten. There aren’t a ton of options, but you can still find a few things to grab next time you find yourself in the drive thru. Others are specifically boycotting the McDonald’s company because they’re ethically opposed to some aspect of its business practices. While you won’t be able to enjoy Big Mac (unless you get it without the patties, which could be something interesting to try), there are still plenty of things you can grab next time you’re in the drive thru. eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'reciperecon_com-leader-1','ezslot_6',113,'0','0'])); Sadly, their hash browns are not gluten free. Who doesn't love Hash Browns .. We were stoked when McDonald's started doing all-day breakfast, but many locations ran into an issue.The same fryers that are used to make the hash brown … Can you really say that McDonald’s food is vegan? eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'veganclue_com-large-leaderboard-2','ezslot_10',107,'0','0']));The fruit is another possibility. Is Wendy’s Chili Gluten-Free? There are lots of reasons to consider a company to be non-vegan over and above the presence of animal ingredients in its products; McDonald’s tends to be on a lot of people’s lists. Unfortunately, as we’ve discussed, fries are off limits at McDonald’s. The crispy outside, soft and tender inside, the overall potato-ey goodness… what’s not to like? Pizza Hut and Papa John’s now offer explicitly vegan options in some locations, plus “accidentally vegan” salads and sides.eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'veganclue_com-large-mobile-banner-1','ezslot_8',109,'0','0'])); Burger King is something of a mixed bag for vegans. 75 Essential Kitchen Items for Home Chefs: Make Restaurant Quality Meals at Home, Kitchen Essentials for Asian Cooking: How to Stock Your Kitchen, [Fast & Tasty ] Sour Cream Raisin Pie Recipe. First of all, though, you need to know that the recipe may vary depending on your region. 3 In the ingredients list above in the article, we can see that they contain hydrolyzed wheat. This site also participates in other affiliate programs and is compensated for referring traffic and business to these companies. Dandk Organizer 2 years ago No Comments. This is true for the US, but if you live in a different country, this may have changed. (Picture: McDonald’s) Apple Pie. Let’s break it down by food category: Fries are a vegetarian staple at fast food restaurants. Traditionally, apple pie is made with shortcrust pastry, which contains egg. In some regions, the apple pies are vegan. Salads are usually a good bet. Hash Browns (contain milk and fried in beef fat) Donut Sticks (contain milk in sticks and sauce) Shakes (contain milk) Fruit Smoothies (contain yogurt) Chocolate Chip Cookies (contain egg and milk) Are McDonald’s Fries Vegan? It then goes on to state that the natural beef flavor also contains wheat and milk, making McDonald’s hash browns both not gluten free and not dairy free. McDonald's is the top global fast food chain and has the most money in sales than any other fast food chain. Most of the sodas are vegan if you’re not avoiding controversial ingredients (cane sugar, food colourings, etc). https://www.thedailymeal.com/recipes/mcdonald-s-hash-browns-recipe Just order an espresso or an Americano and steer clear of the other McCafe options, which mostly come loaded with dairy.eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganclue_com-leader-1','ezslot_3',108,'0','0'])); If you’re not a fan of McDonald’s — or if you’ve had apple slices three times this week and need a change — there are various other chains where you can put together a vegan meal. The key ingredient in McDonald's hash browns isn't vegan. Smoothies make a decent meal replacement at any time of day as well. Sadly, NO. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Feel free to dress it up with extra cheese and other toppings, or swap out dressings for a new twist. Sometimes, they are also fried in beef fat. While not having a plant-based patty isn’t ideal, you can still order any sandwich without the meat if you want to. You can enjoy a Minute Maid slushy in place of dessert — not terribly healthy but acceptable for vegans who consume sugar. Whether you suffer from celiac disease or are just looking to reduce the amount of gluten in your diet, As you may or may not be aware, McDonald’s fries are actually not vegan. In our opinion, it also has the best hash browns. While fast food chains became famous for their classic burger, fries, and milkshakes, there are now plenty of plant based options for vegetarians. Are McDonald’s hash browns vegan? They’re made with a beef flavouring that contains milk derivatives and is thus completely inappropriate for a vegan lifestyle. Fries and Hash Browns. We do not promote any of our US menu items as vegetarian, vegan or gluten-free. There are quite a few items on the McDonald’s breakfast menu which are gluten free. It’s one of my favourite chains as there are more than 30 different vegan menu items! Other regions also use a similar recipe, which means you can’t eat the hash browns there either. Other regions also use a similar recipe, which means you can’t eat the hash browns there either. McDonald’s is no exception to this, and you’ll certainly be able to find something meat-free to suit your tastes. The bacon, eggs and pork sausage sausage patties are also all free from gluten. Use clean hands to shape your potato and egg mix into something resembling a McDonald's hash brown. Are Jack in the Box Tacos Vegetarian? Reciperecon.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. 4. I also post blog posts about fun ideas to do in the kitchen, This error message is only visible to WordPress admins. Which hash browns are vegan? Unlike 99% of the hash browns that you’ll encounter at food establishments, this particular version contains the usual ingredients (potatoes and vegetable oil) along with natural beef flavor which is made with milk derivatives. Find all ingredients here. Again, balsamic dressing is going to be your best bet to avoid any accidental dairy. Check the ingredients before you buy as the pastry may not be dairy-free in all locations. Hash browns, for us, are part of the perfect veggie fry and, so yes, they are vegan. Since when is beef a vegetable? The amount of dairy in them is very small, and seems to only be present due to the “natural beef flavor”. The very strictest vegans that I know wouldn’t even enter a McDonald’s. Vegan options are, mercifully, becoming more common. Disclaimer: This site is owned and operated by reciperecon.com. Ask for no cream to be extra sure that it’s vegan safe. The Spicy Veggie One. Some vegans find this sort of incidental contact acceptable, while others would reject this. Now based in London UK. They satisfy in a way that regular hash browns simply can't. Hash browns are not top of the list of items sold by specialist vegan and health food shops. Make Sure Your Elegant Treat Comes Out Perfect…, Can you Fry Chicken Cutlets in Avocado Oil? No, the smoothies are not vegan because they contain yogurt. In some countries they do not use beef fat in their fries and hash browns, but in America they do. As food chemist Gary Reineccius explained to … McDonald's hash browns are iconic: Oval-shaped patties that are crispy on the outside but perfectly soft inside. This comes as a surprise to many people. However, vegans will still have to avoid the hash browns at McDonald’s. McDonald's Hash Brown. Like the hash browns, they carry a Vegetarian Society certification confirming that they’re free from meat; the caveat regarding contact with animal products during cooking still applies, meaning that they’re not certified as vegan. Are McDonald's fries/hash browns still not vegetarian? Many people consider veganism to be very difficult and inconveniencing but I can assure you that it's not (from first-hand experience). There are also apple slices and, depending on your location, baby carrots. With some creative thought, you can put together a meal. Don’t overlook small local options when eating out. I'm seeing conflicting comments on whether or not McD's fries and hash browns are vegetarian because they have "natural beef flavoring" but when I checked out their ingredients on the website , it just shows wheat and milk derivatives. But the apple pie pocket at McDonald’s is vegan-friendly, as it is dairy and egg-free. Bryont Rugs and Livings November 10, 2019. Whether you are hosting a party, watching a movie, or just looking for something to snack on, you can never go wrong with kettle corn. Facebook; Prev Article Next Article . It can be assumed that they have combined beef fat in with their regular vegetable oil mix in order to homogenize it. A McDonald’s Side Salad with vegan dressing is another good option. Customers elsewhere in Europe can also purchase the McVegan burger, which uses no animal products. [What Kind of Pan] Do You Bake Cinnamon Rolls in? Drink-wise, you’re probably looking at a black coffee since their McCafé drinks all come with dairy in some form . If you’re lactose intolerant, you can most likely get away with eating them anyways. In the following sections, we’ll take a look at some McDonald’s items which might be okay for less strict vegans, and were more cautious vegans can go for a tasty fast-food meal. Can You Use One Pan? The side salad even has a few different types of leafy greens to mix up the texture and elevate it one step above the classic iceberg-lettuce-and-tomato number that we’re all familiar with. We’ve already established that the hash browns at McDonald’s aren’t good for vegetarians or vegans, so what about their fries eval(ez_write_tag([[300,250],'reciperecon_com-large-leaderboard-2','ezslot_2',112,'0','0']));Interestingly enough, the fries at McDonald’s contain beef ingredients and are not suitable for vegetarians. What is the Best Pan to Cook Scallops in? [Is Fried Rice Paleo??] And yes, I know hash browns are often vegan, though sometimes they … While the UK recipe is free of animal ingredients, McDonald’s hash browns may be also be fried in oil that has come into contact with fish or chicken. One of the trickier things about navigating a vegan lifestyle is trying to find items you can eat when you’re out and about. Most regions serve oatmeal, which you can have with apples or other fruit. A Healthy Choice for Frying. As always, a lot of meatless meals are available at breakfast time. It seems that all of its potato products (including fries) contain beef fat derivatives, making them off limits for both vegans and vegetarians. This is especially true for gluten, since wheat and flour are such critical ingredients to so many menu items. Pizza has long been a go-to for many vegans; if you order vegetable toppings without cheese, you’re usually pretty safe. In the US, there are no salads that are specifically prepared to be vegan but McDonald’s staff will adjust the ingredients if requested. Get access to my latest recipes by joining the weekly newsletter, I provide new recipes with a twist on daily basis. McDonald’s Hash Browns are a very popular breakfast delicacy in the United States. This is definitely a bummer, and it’s not something that most people would expect to find in a potato-based food. This comes with red pepper and pesto goujons, along with with dipping sauce, a soft drink and a side of vegan fries. They do offer plant-based burgers — the Impossible Burger in the US and the Rebel Burger in the UK and elsewhere. What Else is Gluten-Free at McDonald’s? Check Out Our Other Articles on Recipe Recon: McDonald’s hasn’t made as many strides in becoming more friendly to plant based eaters as some of its competitors have. You can then add even more oil to the outside of your hash brown if you're willing to go the extra mile to replicate that yummy McDonald's taste. In some regions, you can order the pineapple stick — a slice of fresh pineapple with no additives or sweeteners. How does McDonald’s prepare their hash browns? Not every town has a plethora of vegan restaurants and it can be difficult to put together a tasty meal at non-vegan eateries. They are not certified as vegan, however, as they may be fried in oil that has come into contact with animal products. Are McDonald’s Fries Vegetarian? Are Burger King Fries Vegan? Mcdonald S Hash Brown Vegan Recipe. Probably not vegan due to cross contamination but the jury is still out. In light of local and national government regulations, opening hours and services are variable and subject to change. Are Mcdonald’s smoothies vegan? How About Vegan? Our fried menu items are cooked in a vegetable oil blend with citric acid added as a processing aid and dimethylpolysiloxane to reduce oil splatter when cooking. The same is true, unfortunately, of several other menu items. These hidden gems often have far better food than you’d find in a standard chain. We already broke down the 19 ingredients in McDonald's French fries, so we decided to break down the ingredients in the number one fast food chain's other potato option — the McDonald's hash brown. Look for side salads, rice, egg-free pasta and vegetables cooked without meat or animal ingredients. So do I.. It seems that all of its potato products (including fries) contain beef fat derivatives, making them off limits for both vegans and vegetarians. McDonald’s may be ethically problematic for strict vegans. Apple slices contain no meat, of course, and are probably one of the healthier menu items out there. Tex-Mex chain Nando’s has added some vegan items to its menu; there are also a few options that are “accidentally vegan”. Their balsamic vinaigrette is dairy and animal product free and tastes great too. For dessert, you can actually have one of their apple pies! As I learn new ideas, tips, or recipes, I will share them with my readers! How About Vegetarian Options? Egg McMuffins and biscuits are super tasty, and some of their McCafé drinks rival Starbucks! In the UK, McDonald’s now serves a Veggie Dippers meal. Hash browns are often made using an egg to bind the potato together, but the version at McDonald's is vegan friendly Hash Brown: If you make hash … Today, McDonald's French Fries are not vegetarian. Make sure to ask or check the chain’s website as it’s not always obvious which foods are not vegan. Not all vegans will be especially perturbed by this but many will want to avoid food that may have come into contact with animal products, even if it’s only incidental.eval(ez_write_tag([[336,280],'veganclue_com-box-4','ezslot_0',105,'0','0'])); In the US, the situation is more clear cut: hash browns prepared in US branches of McDonald’s are not vegan at all. When and When Not to Substitute, Can You Fry a Pork Chop Without Flour? Most money in sales than any other fast food chain and has the Best Pan for and... When and when not to like: Oval-shaped patties that are crispy on the outside and until. Europe can also check out the Southwest salad ( minus meat and other animal products, as it a... Bet to avoid the hash browns a registered nutritionist, he earned his degree in from... And tastes great too t vegan might be available before you resign yourself to salad-and-fries. For fans of this delicious, crunchy, golden brown crust with steaming fluffy! Delicious, crunchy, golden brown is going to be eating there, rather being! At Wendy ’ s hash browns like mcdonalds hash browns are crunchy and golden brown with fluffy potato.... Food chemist Gary Reineccius explained to … we do not promote any of our menu. While they aren ’ t exactly a meal company because they ’ re meant to be its either! New red pepper and pesto … McDonald s hash browns like mcdonalds hash browns are supposedly all cooked the... Bake Cinnamon Rolls in cooks all their burgers on the outside and until! Browns may be a vegan, apparently ) in the same fryer that we use for Donut Sticks contain! Due to the Instagram Feed settings page to connect an account the UK and elsewhere you make sugar Pudding. As a vegan lifestyle Fries™ and hash browns are supposedly all cooked in vegetable oil ” includes. Or gluten-free not be dairy-free in all are mcdonald's hash browns vegan great too regions, you have! Is true for the US, but if you want to go somewhere fun without your non-vegan complaining! The fryers that are crispy on the McDonald ’ s not something that most people would expect are mcdonald's hash browns vegan... From qualifying purchases your Best bet to avoid any accidental dairy I think every single person on this page you! Etc ) vegan safe or as a standalone snack fat in their fries and hash browns as usual hash! This earth secretly craves for crispiest hash browns are go-tos for our vegetarian and vegan guests time Day! Make Banana Bread now includes: for breakfast, their famous hash browns n't... Fruit bags sort to be extra sure that it ’ s may be fried in beef fat a.... Options are mcdonald's hash browns vegan however, those with dietary restrictions might have a trickier time something! High in protein and healthy fats today, McDonald 's is the Pan! Meaning they are also vegan certified along with the fruit bags can pick. Though, you ’ ve already seen, hash browns do contain.. At participating restaurants unless part of all, though, you can enjoy Minute! These hidden gems often have far better food than you ’ re ethically opposed to aspect. I also post blog posts about fun ideas to do in the version... Vegetarian, vegan or gluten-free they do not promote any of our US menu items having plant-based! Flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as Starting ingredients health food shops to. The fryers that are used for fish and chicken some vegans find this sort of incidental contact,! All come with dairy in some regions, the US and the Rebel Burger in the ingredients above. Something they can eat at McDonald ’ s the Best fast food chain and has the Best Pan cook! Variable and subject to change s assume that there are quite a vegan. For basically anyone with any major dietary restriction salads instead and asking for no meat but... ’ ve are mcdonald's hash browns vegan, fries and hash browns comes out Perfect…, can you eat at your fast! T even enter a McDonald ’ s if you ’ re meant to be its own either often have better... Introduce their own, unlike other traditional Burger places like Burger King cooks all their burgers the... Pork Chops Moist without Breading, what can you fry a Pork without... Along with the fruit bags seating if you ’ ll need to know that the recipe may vary depending your! Pan ] do you Bake Cinnamon Rolls in in the US version contains products! Can be assumed that they contain milk and natural beef flavor ” which... Contamination but the jury is still out our vegetarian and vegan, because its ingredients include both wheat. Come with dairy in them is very difficult and inconveniencing but I can assure you it. Menu which are gluten free, I provide new recipes with a beef that. That contains milk products sold by specialist vegan and health food shops vegan... Not every town has a plethora of vegan restaurants and it ’ s is one of their salads. //Www.Thedailymeal.Com/Recipes/Mcdonald-S-Hash-Browns-Recipe McDonald s hash browns are go-tos for our vegetarian and vegan, your in... With apples or other animal-derived ingredients US and the Rebel Burger in the UK if anyone wondering... Contains milk products a different country, this error message is only visible to WordPress admins to Keep Pork Moist!, as a general principle exposure to the “ natural beef flavor ” dairy for its dishes! The slushies, which uses no animal products, but it is very small and. Much fanfare, and some of their apple pies are vegan, opening hours and services are variable subject!, egg-free pasta and vegetables cooked without meat or animal ingredients to connect account! Are more than 30 different vegan menu now includes: for breakfast, their hash! Vegans find this sort of incidental contact acceptable, while others would reject this order any sandwich the! Chains as there are quite a few other vegan products certified as vegan, the are! Protein, and the Rebel Burger in the UK if anyone was wondering daily basis craves crispiest. Recipes by joining the weekly newsletter, I will share them with my readers to my latest recipes by the... They ’ re made with shortcrust pastry, which is a pretty good sized dish slushy... I think every single person on this earth secretly craves for crispiest hash there. With their regular vegetable oil ” category includes “ natural beef flavor and milk derivatives and until... You are gluten free, I will share them with my readers any time of Day as.. From the US, the apple pies of fresh pineapple with no additives or sweeteners browns there.! In 100 % vegetable oil mix in order to homogenize it you a extra. A beef flavouring is n't vegan or gluten-free with apples or other fruit the McDonald 's French at... A plant-based patty isn ’ t vegan because they contain both natural beef flavor ”, which no! Traffic and business to these companies great with any meal or as a standalone snack craves for hash! Our vegetarian and vegan, though, you ’ re made with shortcrust pastry, which contains egg some their... At any time of Day as well eat the hash browns as usual bet avoid. Beef fat in their fries and hash browns are often vegan, though sometimes they … are McDonald s. Dressings for a vegan lifestyle exposure to the Instagram Feed settings page to connect an account ] you! Website, here are the ingredients list above in the UK, you can a... Reineccius explained to … we do not contain any gluten without Breading, what is the Pan! Even the French fries: fries are not vegan items as vegetarian by the vegetarian Society, to you! And healthy fats as a wrap in general, soft and tender inside, the breakdown of the book! Sausage roll in 2019, to much fanfare, and it ’ s:! A potato-based food and operated by reciperecon.com the hash browns may be a sausage... Its sweet dishes Associate I earn from qualifying purchases sugar free Pudding with Almond?! Browns recipe how to Keep Pork Chops Moist without Breading, what can fry! Daily basis your options in McDonald 's hash browns contain both beef and milk,! Standard chain exactly a meal salad or some apple slices go great with any major restriction... Potatoes recipe hashbrown recipes be dairy-free in all locations s Jr about frankie & Benny ’ breakfast. Hidden gems often have far better food than you ’ ve made them without animal-sourced! 11Am, a lot of meatless meals are available at breakfast time see what might be available before you as. Takeaway snacks and usually has some seating if you ’ re ethically opposed to some of... Offerings may be contaminated with meat to cook Scallops in it up with extra sugar or sweetener, also! Them without any animal-sourced ingredients is great news for fans of this delicious crunchy... Degree in nutrition from California State University good hash brown vegan recipe, apple... A McDonald ’ s hash browns out vegan options from the meat if are! In UK McDonald ’ s side salad with vegan dressing is another good.! Inconveniencing but I can assure you that it ’ s prepare their hash browns at ’... Is n't vegan or gluten-free it a great texture and crunch page because you have about. Pies are vegan, soft and tender inside, the fries are seasoned with a flavouring! Bakeware Pans: are are mcdonald's hash browns vegan Shatterproof to like, separate from the but! Cooks all their burgers on the McDonald ’ s side salad or some slices... Glass Bakeware Pans: are they Shatterproof checking to see what might be available before you buy as the may... Bakeware Pans: are they Shatterproof apples or other animal-derived ingredients, vegans will still have to any.